I Miss NaNoWriMo

Posted on November 11, 2012

2


I participated in NaNoWriMo several years in a row. I have yet to actually hit the goal, but I keep trying. Last year and this, I haven’t been able to commit the time to it, because I am in law school, which is very, very time consuming.

My fellow law students’ eyes get wide when I mention that I’m homeschooling Princess Fartypants at the same time. That tends to awe a childless twenty-something who manages to be on journal, work part time, clock pro-bono hours and stay active in an officer position for one or more law student groups on top of more credit hours than I’m taking. I’m fairly sure they would be less awed if they’d seen the state of my house. There are a couple of single moms who can one-up me cold, though. This is hard enough with two partners helping coordinate things.

If I was doing NaNoWriMo, my nagging sense of creative frustration might subside a little, leaving me less distractible and better able to focus. But then what would I focus on? My Critical Race Theory seminar paper? Methinks not.

Posted in: Uncategorized